Skip to Main Content

Everybody Eats!: Culinary History & Heritage

This guide supplements the library's Everybody Eats! initiative and contains a wide variety of resources relating to food and culinary literacy.

Cooking the Books

Check out Cooking the Books for recipes from vintage cookbooks! If you love food, cookbooks, and all things vintage, then you've come to the right place!

History & Heritage

A History of Food in 100 Recipes by William Sitwell
Call Number: 641.5092 S

ISBN: 9780316229975

Publication Date: 2013-06-18
Chop Suey: A Cultural History of Chinese Food in the United States by Andrew Coe
Call Number: 641.5951 C

ISBN: 9780195331073

Publication Date: 2009-07-16
National Dish:Around the World in Search of Food, History, and the Meaning of Home by Anya von Bremzen
Call Number: 394.12 V

ISBN: 9780735223165

Publication Date: 2023-06-20
American Feast by Zach Klitzman; Susan Reyburn; Carla D. Hayden (Foreword by)
Call Number: 641.3 K

ISBN: 9780844495835

Publication Date: 2023-03-14
Getting What We Need Ourselves: How Food Has Shaped African American Life by Jennifer Jensen Wallach
Call Number: 394.12 W

ISBN: 9781442253902

Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Praisesong for the Kitchen Ghosts: Stories and Recipes from Five Generations of Black Country Cooks by Crystal Wilkinson
Call Number: 641.5975 W

ISBN: 9780593236512

Publication Date: 2024-01-23
The Lost Supper: Searching for the Future of Food in the Flavors of the Past by Taras Grescoe
Call Number: 641.3 G

ISBN: 9781771647632

Publication Date: 2023-09-19
The Core of an Onion: Peeling the Rarest Common Food--Featuring More Than 100 Recipes by Mark Kurlansky
Call Number: 641.562 K

ISBN: 9781635575934

Publication Date: 2023-11-09
Endangered Eating: America's Vanishing Foods by Sarah Lohman
Call Number: 394.12 L

ISBN: 9781324004660

Publication Date: 2023-10-24

John Keleher's bakery truck in Canton, MA ca., 1920 (University of Massachusetts Boston, Joseph P. Healey Library)

Billing & Gerald Grocers, Canton Directory, 1887-8 (Canton Public Library)

Henry Briggs in Briggs Ice Cream Store, ca., 1900 (Canton Public Library, Keleher Collection)

L. C. Riford, dealer in choice beef, lamb, veal, etc., Canton Directory, 1887-8 (Canton Public Library)

Passing the Plate

Passing the Plate Podcast
The Passing the Plate podcast is all about food, traditions, and the wonderful connections they create. Each week, co-hosts Ashley Covelli of "Big Flavors from a Tiny Kitchen" and Lisa Lisson of "Are You My Cousin?" will guide you on a flavor-packed adventure. Tune in to dive into family history, explore new cultures and cuisines, and preserve favorite recipes for future generations

Featured Project

Feeding America: the Historic American Cookbook Project
Feeding America is an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes 76 cookbooks from the Michigan State University Libraries' collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions.

Cookbooks

Tasting History by Max Miller; Ann Volkwein
Call Number: 641.509 M

ISBN: 9781982186180

Publication Date: 2023-04-18
First Generation: Recipes from My Taiwanese-American Home by Frankie Gaw
Call Number: 641.5951 G

ISBN: 9781984860767

Publication Date: 2022-10-25
Baking Yesteryear: The Best Recipes from the 1900s to the 1980s by B. Dylan Hollis
Call Number: 641.815 H

ISBN: 9780744080049

Publication Date: 2023-07-25
The Original Fannie Farmer 1896 Cookbook by Fannie Merritt Farmer
Call Number: 641.5 O

ISBN: 9781635617474

Publication Date: 2018-07-26
Margaret Powell's Cookery Book by Margaret Powell
Call Number: 641.5 P

ISBN: 9781250029263

Publication Date: 2012-10-30
50 Pies, 50 States: An Immigrant's Love Letter to the United States Through Pie by Stacey Mei Yan Fong
Call Number: 641.8652 F

ISBN: 9780316394512

Publication Date: 2023-06-13