Skip to Main Content

Local History & Genealogy: Genealogy Library Resources

This guide compiles resources related to the history of Canton as well as broader information on local history, genealogy, and related topics.

Databases

Ancestry Library Edition

Heritage Quest Online

American Ancestors

Browse genealogical information on more than 4 billion names through Ancestry.com Library Edition.

In-library use

Niche Academy Tutorial

Browse a treasury of American genealogical sources with coverage dating back to the 1700s.

Use at home or in the library

Niche Academy Tutorial

Browse more than 1.4 billion searchable records through American Ancestors by the New England Historic Genealogical Society.

In-library use

Vital Records

  • Town of Canton annual town report 1842 to current (bound vols. begin 1859) 

    • The Annual Town Report includes vital statistics (births, deaths, marriages) 

    • The vital stats list town-wide totals through 1857; individual death listings begin in 1858, births and marriages in 1878. 

    • After 2010, the printed Annual Town Report no longer includes vital stats. See the Town Clerk’s office in Memorial Hall

Military

Cemeteries

Find a Grave

Findagrave.com is the world's largest gravesite collection with millions of cemetery records. Select the links below to explore gravesite records for Canton's cemeteries.

Canton Corner Cemetery St. Mary's Cemetery Oldest Burying Ground Gridley Cemetery
Special Collections
  • Survey report of Canton Corner Cemetery, 1707-1994 - AR 974.4 CANTON K

  • A list of the names on the tombstones in the old cemetery at Canton Corner : a list of names on the tombstones in the Old English Cemetery at Ponkapoag - George Walter Capen AR 974.4 CANTON L

  • 1995 survey Proprietor's Lot & English Graveyard, Canton, Massachusetts - James A. Roache AR 974.4 CANTON R

Directories & Voter Lists

  • Directory of residents 

    • 1939-47, 1949-50, 1952-3, 1955-1961, 1963-1964, 1966 to current. Includes name, address,  occupation and year of birth

    • Resident and business directory of Canton, Mass. 1887-1888

    • The Canton directory, Massachusetts, 1911

    • The Brockton suburban directory for Canton, Easton, Sharon 1917-1918

  • Canton area phone books  

    • 1956 (in Keleher collection), 1995-2002, 2006-2012, 2017-2019

  • List of voters

    • 1893-1896, 1898-1899, 1904-06, 1915, 1916 (women voters only), 1917, 1919, 1922, 1924

Tax Records

  • Real estate valuations and taxes

    • 1856, 1868, 1882-1883, 1891, 1936, 1949, 1970​​​​​​

  • Poll tax lists

    • List of Assessed Polls in the Town of Canton 1905, 1912-1916

    • List of Persons Assessed for a Poll Tax in the Town of Canton 1917-1938

School Records

Registers & Membership Lists